Find the best library databases for your research.
Databases & eBooks
Virginia residents: when prompted, please enter the email address or library card number associated with your Library of Virginia account. For resources that can be accessed remotely by all users, please visit Virginia Memory.
= Available to Virginia residents. Requires a Library of Virginia library card or online account.
= Available at the Library of Virginia.
= Available to Virginia residents. Does not require a Library of Virginia library card or online account.
Bristol Herald Courier
Culpeper Star Exponent
Danville Register & Bee
Danville Register and Bee
News and Advance
Includes full-text articles from the Richmond Times-Dispatch (1985–current)*, digital issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch (1903–1986), as well as digital issues beginning January 1, 2019 (with a 90-day embargo) for the Richmond Times-Dispatch, Bristol Herald Courier, Culpeper Star Exponent, Daily Progress (Charlottesville), Danville Register & Bee, News & Advance (Lynchburg), News Virginian (Waynesboro), News-Gazette (Lexington), Roanoke Times, and Virginian-Pilot (Norfolk).
*Due to the inclusion of some Richmond News Leader articles in this database, please check the microfilm to confirm the source for articles published August 19, 1985–May 30, 1992.
Provides a broad array of federal and state legal resources including codes, constitutions, attorney general opinions, legal journals, regulations, court rules, supreme court and court of appeals opinions, and circuit court trial orders. Includes full-text articles from foreign and domestic newspapers, popular magazines, academic journals, and television and radio broadcast transcripts. Provides aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad.
A digital collection that includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931–2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893–2010), Chicago Defender (1909–2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934–2010), Kansas City Call (1946-2008), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934–2010), Louisville Defender (1951–2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939–2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922–2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916–2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912–2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911–2010).