Research Guides & Indexes: Kentucky Records: Kentucky Microfilm

Overview

The Library of Virginia has microfilm copies of some Kentucky county records. Most records predate 1793, although there are a few later records. This microfilm is available for use at the Library of Virginia, but the reels ARE NOT available through interlibrary loan. Researchers may make copies from this microfilm, but the Library of Virginia staff CANNOT provide copies of these records. For copies and research assistance, contact the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives.

County Court Records

Bourbon County

Date of Formation: 1786
Formed From: Fayette County

Reel No.	Bonds/Commissions/Oaths
	see Miscellaneous Records
Reel No.	County Court Records
0001	Order (Minute) Book, 1786-1789
0002	Order Book A, 1786-1793 653 p.
0002	Order Book B, 1793-1799, 727 p.
0003	Order Book C, 1799-1808, 720 p.
0003	Order Book D, 1808-1812, 554 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0004	Deed Book A, 1786-1790, index 344 p.
0004	Deed Book B, 1790-1794, index 560 p.
0004	Deed Book C, 1794-1796, 766 p.
0005	Deed Book D, 1796-1799, 480 p.
0005	Deed Book E, 1799-1802, 693 p.
0006	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. A, includes financial and religious institutions.
0006	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. B
0006	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. C
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. D
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. E-F
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. G
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. H
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. I-J
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. K
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. L
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. M
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. N-O
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. P-Q
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. R
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. S
0009	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. T-U-V
0009	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1981, Vol. W-X-Y-Z
	see also Miscellaneous Records
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0014	Index to Marriages, Vols. A-F
0015	Index to Marriages, Vols. G-M
0016	Index to Marriages, Vols. N-T
0017	Index to Marriages, Vols. U-Z
0010	Marriage Bonds, 1794-1930
0011	Marriage Bonds, 1797-1799
0012	Marriage Bonds, 1799-1802
0013	Marriage Register 3, 1852-1898, 332 p.
0013	Marriage Register 4, 1895-1930, 480 p.
0013	Ministers’ Returns (Marriage Register 1), 1790-1799, 38 p.
0013	Ministers’ Returns (Marriage Register 1), 1790-1799, 38 p., typescript
0013	Record of Marriages (Marriage Register 2), 1798-1837, 267 p.
	see also Miscellaneous Records
Reel No.	Miscellaneous Records
0022	Ordinary Bonds - Simon Kenton and Daniel Boone Deeds - Marriage Bonds and Consents
0021	Simon Kenton Letter, Marriage Bond, and Consent - Bourbon County Courthouse Specifications - Simon Kenton and Daniel Boone Deeds
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0018	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1787-1808
Reel No.	Wills
0020	General Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements, nos. 10875-15742
0020	General Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements, nos. 1-2200
0020	General Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements, nos. 2200-5000
0020	General Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements, nos. 5000-8400
0020	General Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements, nos. 8401-10874
0020	Numerical Index to Estates, Wills, and Settlements (A-Z)
0019	Will Book A, 1786-1798, 367 p.
0019	Will Book B, 1798-1805, 274 p.
0019	Will Book C, 1805-1809, 559 p.
0019	Will Book D, 1809-1814, 536 p.
0019	Will Book E, 1814-1816, 482 p.
0019	Will Book F, 1816-1821, 476 p

Fayette County

Date of Formation: 1780
Formed From: Kentucky County

Reel No.	County Court Records
0001	General Index to Order Books 1-26, 1790-1893
0001	General Index to Order Books 27-59, 1893-1936
Reel No.	Land Records
0002	Burned Records Vol. 1 (contains deeds and wills), 451 p.
0002	Burned Records Vol. 2 (contains deeds and wills), 468 p.
0002	Burned Records Vol. 3 (contains deeds and wills), 409 p.
0002	Burned Records Vol. 4 (contains deeds and wills), pp. 1-79
0003	Burned Records Vol. 4 cont. (contains deeds and wills), pp 78-413.
0003	Burned Records Vol. 5 (contains deeds and wills), 409 p.
0003	Burned Records Vol. 6 (contains deeds and wills), 520 p.
0003	Burned Records Vol. 7 (contains deeds and wills), pp. 1-452.
0004	Burned Records Vol. 7 cont. (contains deeds and wills), pp. 453-518.
0004	Burned Records Vol. 8 (contains deeds and wills), 267 p.
0005	Deed Book A, 1794-1804 (1888 manuscript copy)
0005	Deed Book A, 1794-1804, 439 p.
0006	Deed Book B, 1804-1806, index, 815 p.
0006	Deed Book, 1794-1807, index, pp. 1-532
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1780-1816 (Grantees)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1780-1816 (Grantors)
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1816-1834 (Grantees)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1816-1834 (Grantors)
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1834-1854 (Grantees)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1834-1854 (Grantors)
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1854-1870 (Grantees)
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0009	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1787-1804
Reel No.	Wills
0011	General Index to Wills No. 1, 1793-1900, 189 p.
0011	General Index to Wills No. 2, Books 9-25 , unpaged, typescript
	see also Land Records
0010	Will Book A, 1793-1809, index, 538 p.
0010	Will Book B, 1809-1813, index, 537 p.

Jefferson County

Date of Formation: 1780
Formed From: Kentucky County

Reel No.	County Court Records
0002	Minute Book, 1784-1785, 1790-1793
0001	Minute Books A and 1-5, 1780-1801, 571 p., typescript, indexes interspersed.
0001	Minute Books, 6-10, 1801-1813, 441 p., typescript, indexes interspersed.
0003	Order Book, 1784-1785, 511 p.
Reel No.	Fiduciary Records
0004	Division Book 1, 1797-1850, 442 p.
0004	Division Book 2, 1849-1859, 737 p., index.
0004	Division Book 3, 1871-1916, 456 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0005	Deed Book 1, 1783-1789, index, 454 p.
0005	Deed Book 4, 1792-1798, 628 p., index.
0006	Deed Book 5, 1798-1801, 452 p., index.
0006	Deed Book 6, 1801-1804, 620 p., index.
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1783-1838, (Grantees)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1838-1848, (Grantees)
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0008	Marriage Bonds, 1781-1789
0008	Marriage Bonds, 1790-1799
0010	Marriage Register 1, 1784-1826, index, 173 p.
0010	Marriage Register 2, 1826-1837, index, 210 p.
0010	Marriage Register 3, 1837-1842, 199 p.
0009	Marriage Register, 1780-1854, index, list of ministers, 151 p.
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0011	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1789-1801
Reel No.	Wills
0012	Will Book 1, 1784-1813, index at end.
0012	Will Book 2, 1813-1833

Lincoln County

Date of Formation: 1780
Formed From: Kentucky County

Reel No.	County Court Records
0001	Order Book 1, 1781-1784, index, 252 p.
0001	Order Book 2, 1785-1786, index, 206 p.
0002	Order Book 3, 1786-1791, index, 599 p.
0002	Order Book 4, 1791-1794, index, 331 p.
0003	Order Book 5, 1794-1801, 287 p.
0003	Order Book 6, 1801-1808, index, 488 p.
Reel No.	Court of Quarter Sessions
0004	Order Book, 1793-1798, index, 394 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0005	Deed Book A, 1781-1791, index, 532 p.
0005	Deed Book A, 1796-1799, (Danville District Court)
0006	Deed Book B, 1791-1795, index, 547 p.
0006	Deed Book B, 1800-1801 (Danville District Court),
0007	Deed Book C, 1795-1797, index, 351 p.
0007	Deed Book D, 1797-1802, index, 266 p.
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1780-1870
0011	General Index to Surveys, 1781-1887
0011	General Index to Surveys, 1781-1910
0009	Survey Book I, 1781-1783, unpaged.
0009	Survey Book II, 1784-1785, unpaged.
0009	Survey Book III, 1785-1910 (bulk 1785-1887), index at end.
0010	Survey Book IV, 1792-1821, unpaged.
0009	Survey Book, 1783-1786, 470 p., index
0010	Survey Book, 1822-1852, List of Notes Due at beginning.
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0015	General Index to Marriages, 1854-1939
0012	Marriage Bonds and Consents, 1781-1796
0012	Marriage Bonds and Consents, 1797-1809
0013	Marriage Bonds and Consents, 1810-1829
0014	Record (Index) of Marriages, 1784-1908, 295 p., typescript.
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0016	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1787-1805
Reel No.	Wills
0018	General Index to Wills, 1780-1865
0019	General Index to Wills, 1781-1984
0017	Will Book A, 1781-1791, index, 193 p.
0017	Will Book B, 1791-1804, index, 282 p.
0017	Will Book C, 1804-1806, index, 203 p.

Madison County

Date of Formation: 1786
Formed From: Lincoln County

Reel No.	County Court Records
0002	Minute Book, 1784-1785, 1790-1793
0001	Order (Minute) Book, 1786-1798, unpaged.
0001	Order Book A, 1786-1791, index, 554 p.
0001	Order Book B, 1791-1800, index, 669 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0002	Deed Book A, 1787-1790, index, 261 p.
0002	Deed Book B, 1791-1793, index, 539 p.
0003	Deed Book C, 1793-1796, index, 744 p.
0004	Deed Book D, 1796-1800, index, 791 p.
0005	Deed Book E, 1800-1805, index, 968 p.
0006	General Index to Deeds, 1787-1899, Grantees (A-J) and (K-Z)
0006	General Index to Deeds, 1787-1899, Grantors (A-C) and (D-K)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1787-1899, Grantors (L-R) and (S-Z)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1899-1960, Grantees (A-C) and (D-H)
0008	Land Entries, 1780-1793, 96 p.
0009	Land Surveys, 1783-1812, index, 128 p.
0009	Land Surveys, 1799-1866, index, 172 p.
0009	Land Surveys, 1816-1844, index, 286 p.
0009	Land Surveys, 1847-1884, index, 164 p. (followed by land entries)
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0010	General Index to Marriages, 1787-1953 (A-L)
0010	General Index to Marriages, 1787-1953 (M-Z)
0010	General Index to Marriages, 1953-1975 (A-L)
0010	General Index to Marriages, 1953-1975 (M-Z)
0010	General Index to Marriages, 1976-1983 (A-Z)
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0011	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1787-1807
0012	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1808-1820
Reel No.	Wills
0014	General Index to Wills, 1787-1959
0013	Will Book A, 1787-1813, 744 p.
0013	Will Book B, 1814-1819, index, 534 p.

Mason County

Date of Formation: 1789
Formed From: Bourbon County

Reel No.	Land Records
0001	Deed Book A, 1789-1794, index, 411 p.
0003	Deed Book A, 1803-1806 (Circuit Court), index, 515 p.
0002	Deed Book B, 1797-1800 (Washington District Court), index, 567 p., index
0001	Deed Book B-1, 1794-1795, index, 570 p.
0002	Deed Book C, 1795-1796, index, 545 p., index
0003	Deed Book C-1, 1799-1803 (Washington District Court), 442 p., index
0004	Deed Book D, 1796-1798, index, 517 p.
0004	Deed Book E, 1798-1799, 533 p.
0005	Deed Book F, 1799-1801, index, 452 p.
0005	Deed Book G, 1801-1803, index, 449 p.
0006	Deed Book H, 1803-1806, index, 548 p.
0006	Deed Book J, 1806-1807, index, 539 p.
0012	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantees (A–B) and (C pt. 1)
0013	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantees (C cont.) and (D) and (E–F–G) and (H pt. 1)
0014	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantees (H cont.) and (I–J–K) and (L–M)
0015	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantees (N–O–P–Q–R) and (S)
0016	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantees (T–Z)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantors (A–B) and (C)
0008	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantors (D) and (E–F–G) and (Ha–Hi)
0009	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantors (Ho–Hz) and (I–J–K–L) and (M)
0010	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantors (N–O–P–Q) and (R) and (S)
0011	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1978, Grantors (T–U–V–X–Y–Z) and (W)
0018	General Index to Deeds, City of Maysville, 1794-1816 (A–Q)
0017	General Index to Deeds, City of Maysville, 1794-1835, 380 p.
0017	General Index to Deeds, City of Maysville, 1835-1850, 379 p.
0017	General Index to Deeds, City of Maysville, 1850-1865, 379 p.
0017	General Index to Deeds, City of Maysville, 1865-1879, 380 p.
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0020	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1790-1809
0019	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1794-1806
0021	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1810-1835
Reel No.	Wills
0022	Will Book A, 1791-1798, index, 419 p.
0022	Will Book B, 1798-1809, index, 637 p.
0022	Will Book C, 1809-1815, index, 433 p.

Mercer County

Date of Formation: 1786
Formed From: Lincoln County

Reel No.	Court Records
	County Court
0001	Order Book 1, 1786-1790, index, 522 p.
0001	Order Book 2, 1790-1793, index, 502 p.
0002	Order Book 3, 1793-1801, 537 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0003	Deed Book 1, 1786-1793, 534 p.
0003	Deed Book 2, 1793-1795, index, 546 p.
0003	Deed Book 3, 1795-1799, 528 p.
0004	Deed Book 4, 1799-1802, index, 457 p.
0004	Deed Book 4-S, 1794-1805, (Court of Quarter Sessions) index, 695 p.
0004	Deed Book 5, 1803-1806, index, 560 p.
0004	Deed Book 6, 1805-1808, index, 528 p.
0006	General Index to Deeds, Vol. 1, 1786-1856, (Grantees) unpaged.
0005	General Index to Deeds, Vol. 1, 1786-1856, (Grantors) unpaged.
0006	General Index to Deeds, Vol. 2, 1856-1908, (Grantees) 794 p.
0005	General Index to Deeds, Vol. 2, 1856-1908, (Grantors) 806 p.
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0012	General Index to Marriages, 1786-1936, (typescript)
0012	General Index to Marriages, 1937-1984, (typescript)
0007	Marriage Bond Book, 1786-1797, 748 p.
0007	Marriage Bond Book, 1798-1807, 740 p.
0007	Marriage Bond Book, 1808-1816, 718 p.
0008	Marriage Bonds, 1786-1794
0009	Marriage Bonds, 1795-1798
0010	Marriage Bonds, 1799-1803
0011	Marriage Register 1, 1786-1833, index, 402 p.
0011	Marriage Register 2, 1833-1852, 254 p.
0011	Marriage Register 3, 1852-1875, 265 p.
0011	Marriage Register 3A, 1876-1901, 480 p.
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0013	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1789, 1794-1812
Reel No.	Wills
0016	D.A.R. Will Abstracts, 1784-1851, Mercer County Will Books 1, 2 & 3, Montgomery County Will Book E, Nelson County, Pulaski County Will Book 2, Washington County
0015	General Index to Wills, 1786-1986
0014	Will Book 1, 1786-1795, index, 228 p.
0014	Will Book 2, 1795-1803, index, 359 p.
0014	Will Book 3, 1803-1808, index, 347 p.
0014	Will Book 4, 1808-1813, index, 368 p.
0014	Will Book 5, 1813-1816, index, 358 p.
0014	Will Book 6, 1816-1821, index, 353 p.
0014	Will Book 7, 1821-1824, index, 324 p.

Nelson County

Date of Formation: 1785
Formed From: Jefferson County

Reel No.	Bonds/Commissions/Oaths
0001	Bonds, 1794-1802
Reel No.	County Court
0002-0003	Chancery Papers, 1780-1807 (includes District Court of Chancery and Court of Quarter Sessions)
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1793, index, 71 p.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1794, index, 54 p.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1803-1804, index, 151 p.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1806-1807, unpaged.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1807-1808, unpaged.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1809-1812, unpaged.
0004	Clerks’ Fee Book, 1814-1815, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1795-1802, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1797-1802, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1810 (October), unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1810, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1810-1811, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1815, unpaged.
0005	Issue Docket, 1816-1817, unpaged.
0006	Judgments, 178-1786
0007	Order Book, 1790-1791, 567 p.
0008	Writs of Ad Quod Danum re: Mill Sites, 1789-1847
Reel No.	Court of Quarter Sessions
0009	Order Book, 1802, index, 46 p.
	see also County Court
	District Court of Chancery
	see County Court
Reel No.	Supreme Court (Bardstown District)
0009	Order Book, 1796-1799, index, 402 p.
Reel No.	Land Records
0010	Deed Books 1-3, 1784-1795 (in one volume)
0011	Deed Book 4, 1790-1795, index, 930 p.
0012	Deed Book 5, 1795-1801, index, 738 p.
0015	Depositions to Establish Land Entries, 1795-1810
0013	General Index to Deeds #1, 1786-1875
0014	General Index to Deeds #2, 1875-1893
0014	General Index to Deeds #3, 1893-1919
0013	General Index to Deeds, 1786-1818 (Grantors)
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Records
0016	Marriage Register 1, 1785-1859
0016	Marriage Register 1-A, 1851-1881
0016	Marriage Register 2, 1860-1951
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0017	Insolvent Debtors Papers, 1799-1801
0018	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1792-1810
0019	Lists of Tithables, 1785-1791
Reel No.	Wills
0023	D.A.R. Will Abstracts, 1784-1851, Mercer County Will Books 1, 2 & 3, Montgomery County Will Book E, Nelson County, Pulaski County Will Book 2, Washington County
0022	General Index to Wills, 1785-1962 (A-I)
0022	General Index to Wills, 1785-1962 (J-Z)
0020	Will Book 1, 1785-1790, index, 77 p.
0020	Will Book A, 1786-1807, index, 1027 p.
0020	Will Book B, 1808-1828, index, 346 p.
0020	Will Book C-1, 1811-1814, index, 280 p.
0020	Will Book C-2, 1814-1817, 548 p.
0021	Will Book D, 1818-1823, index, 559 p.
0021	Will Book E (Pt. 1), 1823-1825, index, 335 p.
0021	Will Book E (Pt. 3), 1828-1830, index, 62 p., index
Reel No.	Miscellaneous Records
0024	Bardstown Charter and Ordinances, 1878, (published) 48 p.
0024	Bardstown Trustees Minute Book, 1789-1827, (Newspaper clippings of transcription that appeared in the Kentucky Standard)
0025	Estray Book, 1799-1807

Woodford County

Date of Formation: 1789
Formed From: Fayette County

Reel No.	County Court Records
0001	Order Book A, 1789-1791, 257 p., index
0001	Order Book B, 1791-1794, 353 p., index
0002	Order Book C, 1794-1812, 700 p., index
0002	Order Book D, 1812-1821, 459 p., index
0002	Order Book E, 1821-1829, 376 p., index
0002	Order Book F, 1830-1836, 483 p.
0003	Order Book, 1832-1833, unpaged.
Reel No.	Land Records
0004	Deed Book A, 1789-1795, 276 p.
0004	Deed Book B, 1795-1796, 589 p.
0005	Deed Book C, 1794-1803, 630 p., index
0005	Deed Book C-2, 1796-1805, index, 591 p.
0006	Deed Book D, 1806-1809, index, 531 p.
0006	Deed Book E, 1809-1812, index, 460 p.
0006	Deed Book F, 1812-1815, index (A-E), 532 p.
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1789-1844 (Grantors)
0007	General Index to Deeds, 1845-1870 (Grantors)
0003	Land Entry Book, 1782-1834, index, 92 p.
0003	Surveys, 1804-1831, index, 202 p.
Reel No.	Marriage Records and Vital Statistics
0008	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (A–B)
0009	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (C)
0010	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (D–F)
0011	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (G)
0012	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (H)
0013	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (I–L)
0014	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (M)
0015	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (N–R)
0016	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (S)
0017	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (T–V)
0018	Marriage Bonds, 1789-1860 (W–Y)
0019	Marriage Records (Bonds, Consents, Licenses, Ministers' Returns), 1789-1855
0020	Marriage Records (Bonds, Consents, Licenses, Ministers' Returns), 1789-1855
Reel No.	Tax and Fiscal Records
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1795 (target is mislabeled)
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1807 (target is mislabeled)
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1815 (target is mislabeled)
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1816 (target is mislabeled)
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1818 (target is mislabeled)
0022	Land and Personal Property Tax Book, 1826 (target is mislabeled)
0021	Land and Personal Property Tax Books, 1790-1797, 1799-1814
Reel No.	Wills
0025	D.A.R. Will Book Abstracts, Warren County, Will Books B & D., 1821-1862, Woodford County, 1788-1851
0024	General Index to Wills, 1787-1974
0024	General Index to Wills, 1974-1991
0023	Will Book A, 1789-1796, 173 p.
0023	Will Book B, 1796-1807, index, 256 p.
0023	Will Book C, 1806-1812, index, 431 p.
0023	Will Book D, 1812-1815, 344 p., index