Research Guides & Indexes: School Desegregation in Virginia: General Sources

Websites

Civil Rights Movement in Virginia (Virginia Museum of History and Culture)
Overview of the 20th-century civil rights movement and the history of African American education in Virginia.
Desegregation in Public Schools (Encyclopedia Virginia)
Encyclopedia article about the history of school desegregation in Virginia.
Desegregation of Virginia Education (Old Dominion University)
Timeline, oral histories, and other resources related to school desegregation in Virginia.
Massive Resistance (Encyclopedia Virginia)
Encyclopedia article about the Massive Resistance policy in Virginia.

Newspapers

Newspapers are an invaluable source for researching the 20th-century civil rights movement. The Library's newspaper collections include both mainstream newspapers, which emphasize voices of the white establishment, and African American newspapers providing alternative perspectives on current events.

Virginia Chronicle (LVA)
Historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to over 3 million newspaper pages.
Virginia Newspaper Directory
Searchable index of microfilmed newspapers held by Virginia libraries.

America's News: Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes the digitized Richmond Times-Dispatch (1903-1986).
*Due to the inclusion of some Richmond News Leader articles in this database, please check the microfilm to confirm the source for articles published August 19, 1985–May 30, 1992.

Inclusion of obituaries in the (1985–current) full-text database is inconsistent. If an obituary is not found in the database, users are encouraged to check the newspaper microfilm, as it may include obituaries that don't appear in the database.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Black Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the digitized Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003).
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers, including 20th-century Virginia newspapers such as the Danville Register, Petersburg Progress Index, and Winchester Evening Star.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. The Washington Post (1877–2007) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of pages.

Books

Patterson, James T. Brown v. Board of Education: A Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

Raffel, Jeffrey A. Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation: The American Experience. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.