State 8
Virginia. Discovered and Discribed by Captain John Smith. Graven by William Hole. 1606.
Engraved by William Hole
State 8, first appearing in the 1624 edition of Smith’s Historie
755/1608/1612/ca. 1624
Call number: G3880 1624 .S5 Voorhees Collection
Extensive changes were made on the original plates for this state. Three new names have been added (“Featherstones Baye,” “Bollers bush,” and “Sparkes Poynt”), the words “Page. 41/Smith” have been added in the lower right corner, and the scale cartouche has been re-engraved in spots, such as around the scale bar and the adjacent frame. For more information, please consult Tooley’s The Mapping of America, p. 155.
State 9, housed in Special Collections
Virginia. Discovered and Discribed by Captayn John Smith. In Purchas His Pilgrims, book 9, volume 4. London: Printed by William Stansby for Henrie Fetherstone, 1625.
Call number: G159 P98 v. 1–5
This state of Virginia was inserted in the ninth book, volume four, of Purchas His Pilgrims published in 1625. Changes made to the original plate include the addition of three place names. The area around the scale bar has been re-cut and the initial “A” in Appamatuck has been extended. The Susquehannock man's face has been touched up, making the eyes and eyebrows more pronounced. For more information, please consult Verner’s Smith’s Virginia and its Derivatives, p. 24.
State 10, housed in Special Collections
Virginia. Discovered and Discribed by Captayn John Smith. In John Smith, The Generall Historie of Virginia, New England, and the Summer Isles. London: Printed by I. D. and I. H. for Michael Sparkes, 1624.
Call number: F229 S62 1624
State 10, Virginia, is best identified by alterations made to the Purchas page numbers added in State 7. The page numbers have been corrected to 1690 on the left and 1691 on the right instead of 1692 and 1693, respectively. There is a crease in the paper running to the left of the “a” in Chesapeake. For more information please consult Verner’s Smith’s Virginia and its Derivatives (1968), p. 25.
Virginia. Discovered and Described by Captayn John Smith 1606.
From John Smith, The True Travels, Adventures, and Observations . . . in Europe, Asia, Africke, and America. Richmond: Franklin Press, 1819
755/1608/1612/1819
Call number: G3880 1624 .S55 1819 Voorhees Collection
This is a facsimile of State 10 of Smith’s Virginia printed from a copperplate, circa 1819. William Hole’s name has been omitted from the imprint. This edition was produced by Francis Walker Gilmer and Rev. John Holt Rice, who were both members of the William Wirt Literary Circle in Richmond, Virginia. For additional bibliographic information, please consult Tooley’s The Mapping of America, p. 157.
Virginia. Discovered and Described by Captayn John Smith. In John Smith, The True Travels, Adventures and Observations . . . in Europe, Asia, Africke, and America. 1st American reprint. Richmond: Franklin Press, 1819.
Housed in Special Collections
Call number: F229 .S65 1819.
The first American reprint of John Smith’s two-volume work, The True Travels, Adventures and Observations . . . in Europe, Asia, Africke, and America and the Generall Historie of Virginia, New England, and the Summer Isles was financed and published in Richmond by Rev. John Holt Rice, who established the Virginia Literary and Evangelical Magazine, forerunner of The Southern Literary Messenger. Francis Walker Gilmer, an aspiring young lawyer and the grandson of explorer and surveyor Dr. Thomas Walker, initiated the project. In the dedication of the book to the “People of Virginia,” the publisher indicates his high regard for John Smith by referring to him as “one of the most accomplished Hero’s of the World.”
This edition was printed by William W. Gray at the Franklin Press, reputed at the time to be the best printing shop in Virginia. The reproduction contains detailed engravings imitated from the original, including the Smith map of Virginia, and was expensive and technically difficult to produce. The map was copied from State 10, and it appears in volume one of The True Travels. It is clearly and carefully done, but noticeably different than the original map, particularly in the shading. The name of William Hole, engraver of the original map, has been omitted.
Virginia. Discovered and Described by Captayn John Smith 1606.
Richmond, Virginia 1819
Call number: G3880 1624 .S553 1819
A reproduction of Smith’s map was published in Richmond, Virginia, in 1819 to accompany an edition of Smith’s Generall Historie, and it was printed from this engraved plate. The plate was rescued in 1867 from the brazier pot by the late Thomas H. Wynne and purchased for the Virginia State Library at the sale of his library in 1875.
Derivative 1, State 2.
Nova Virginiae Tabula. Ex officina Guiljelmi Blaeuw.
Engraved by Dirck Grijp
Published in Atlantis Appendix, Willem Blaeu. Amsterdam
Editions published in 1630 and 1650
755/1618/1630 (Voorhees Collection), text verso: blank
755/1650, text verso: Latin
Call numbers: G3880 1630 .N68 Voorhees Collection and G3880 1650 .N68
Jodocus Hondius Jr. (1594 or 1595–1629) engraved the original plate for State 1 of this Smith map derivative and published it as a single sheet, not as part of an atlas. Hondius died in 1629 and his wife sold a number of his copperplates to Willem Blaeu (1571–1638). Blaeu replaced Hondius’s imprint with his own, as shown above, and published Nova Virginiae Tabvla in his first world atlas, Atlantis Appendix. This map is larger than Smith’s map and it includes a new title and an explanatory note above the smaller Indian figure. The royal arms lack a motto and the waters are bereft of ships and sea monsters, but the trees are approximately the same size and shape.
Derivative 2
Nova Virginiae Tabula Petrus Kaerius Caelavit.
Engraved by Pieter van den Keere (1571–after 1646)
Published in Atlas Minor Gerardi Mercatoris, Johannes Janssonius Jr. Amsterdam
First published in 1628, this edition was published between 1628 and 1636.
755/1628-1636
The map lacks letterpress above the plate and the text verso is blank.
Call number: G3880 1628 .K43 Voorhees Collection
This second derivative of Smith’s map, Virginia, is from Atlas Minor Gerardi Mercatoris, a smaller atlas that was more accessible to the public in size and cost. Nova Virginiae Tabula was the first derivative to appear in an atlas and is the only map depicting North America in Atlas Minor. The rounded cartouche contains the name of the engraver, Pieter van den Keere. This is the first use of this title based on Smith’s map of the Chesapeake Bay.
Derivative 3
Virginia. Erforshet und beschriben durch Capitain Iohan Schmidt.
Engraved by Matheus Merian (1593–1650)
Published in Part 13 of Theodore de Bry’s Grand Voyages, Dreyzehender Theil Americae. Frankfurt
Published 1627 or later
755/1627 or later
Call number: G3880 1624 .S54 Voorhees Collection
Based on the sixth state of the John Smith map, this derivative includes images of the Indian figure and Powhatan’s lodge from engravings based on John White’s drawings that appeared in volume one of de Bry’s Grand Voyages. Merian was an engraver and publisher in Frankfurt. He was the son-in-law and successor of Theodore de Bry, who died in 1598.
Derivative 4, State 1
Nova Virginiae Tabula. Miliaria Germanico communia 15 pro uno gradu.
Engraved by Pieter van den Keere
Published in Gerardi Mercatoris Atlas sive Cosmographicae, Johannes Cloppenburg. Amsterdam
Published in 1630 or 1636
755/1630 or 1636, text verso: French
Call number: G3880 1630 .K436
In 1630 Johannes Cloppenburg first published Nova Virginiae Tabula in his atlas, Atlas sive Cosmographicae. The map had been engraved by Pieter van den Keere. It is one of four maps relating to North America to appear in Cloppenburg’s atlas, and was placed in the appendix. This derivative includes a letterpress title above the neatline, “DESCRIPTION DE LA NOUVELLE VIRGIN. 47,” and two poems are printed on the verso.
Derivative 4, State 2
Nova Virginia Tabula. Miliaria Germanico communia 15 pro uno gradu.
Engraved by Pieter van den Keere
Published in Gerardi Mercatoris Atlas Sive Cosmographicae by Jan Jannsson van Waesberge or Johannes Cloppenburg. Amsterdam
Published 1673 and later
755/1630/1673 or 1734
Call number: G3880 1630 .K437
First published in Amsterdam in 1630 by Johannes Cloppenburg, this fourth derivative of Smith’s map of Virginia was engraved by Pieter van den Keere for the small atlas Gerardi Mercatoris Atlas sive Cosmographicae. This derivative is from an oblong plate and the moiré, a rippled effect, used to depict the ocean has been deleted. The reverse side is blank and there is no letterpress title.
Derivative 4, State 3
Nova Virginiae Tabula. Miliaria Germanica communia uno gradu.
Engraved by Pieter van den Keere
Published in Atlas Portatif, Henri du Sauzet
Published 1734 or 1738
755/1630/ca. 1738
755/1738 (1)
Call number: G3880 1630 .K44 Voorhees Collection
Henri du Sauzet obtained several plates from the oblong atlas Gerardi Mercatoris and combined them with plates from Sanson’s octavo atlases of America, Asia, and Africa in the atlas Atlas Portatif. This map is unique in that no text appears on the verso and there is no letterpress title above the top neatline. The plate number “263” has been added within the border in the upper right corner. This map was first published by Johannes Cloppenburg and engraved by Pieter van den Keere.
Derivative 5, State 1
Nova Virginiae Tabula. Amstelodami, ex officina Henrici Hondii.
Published in L’Appendice de l’Atlas, Henry Hondius. Amsterdam
Published in 1633 or 1635
755/1633 or 1635, text verso: French
Call number: G3880 1630 .H5
This is the Henricus Hondius derivative of the John Smith map, drawn from his brother Jodocus Hondius Jr.’s 1618 version. Upon Jodocus Hondius’ death, his wife sold several of his plates to Willem Blaeu. Angry that his brother’s plates were sold to his competitor, Henricus Hondius and his partner, Joannes Janssonius, hired engravers to cut several new plates for sale in an atlas to compete with Blaeu’s. This map of Virginia was one of the first engraved, and is the only Smith derivative to include an Indian figure facing the Chesapeake Bay.
Derivative 6
Virginia. Tipped in Gerardus Mercator, Historia Mundi or Mercator’s Atlas. London: Printed by T. Cotes for Michael Sparke and Samuel Cartwright, 1635.
Special Collections
Call number: G1007 H67 1635
This is certainly a derivative of the John Smith map, but it represents the “whim of the engraver rather than any concern for geographical accuracy.” Ralph Hall engraved Virginia for inclusion in the second edition of Wye Saltonstall's English translation of Mercator’s famous world atlas. It also appeared in the 1639 edition and was inserted in some copies of the 1635 edition. Hall decorated his map with a variety of animals and birds, as well as ships, a sea monster, and Indian vignettes from de Bry’s engravings of John White’s paintings. English hunters appear along the James River shooting at wild game, while American Indians are poised with bows and arrows on the north shore of the Potomac River.
Derivative 7
Virginia.
Published in Atlas Minor, Johannes Janssonius. Amsterdam
Published 1648 or 1651
Text verso: German
755/1648 or 1651, text verso: German
755/1651(1), text verso: German
Call number: G3880 1648 .V8 Voorhees Collection
Virginia was published in the 3rd edition of Janssonius’s Atlas Minor, and replaced the derivative of Smith’s map published in the first edition. This map is slightly larger than the one produced in the first edition and the title is located in the top left corner. The English coat of arms is shown, but the map’s engraver is not identified.
Derivative 8, State 1
Nova Virginiae Tabula.
Engraved by Jacob Meurs
From Die Unbekante Neue Welt, Arnold Montanus. Amsterdam
Published in 1671
755/1671
Call number: G3880 1671 .M66
Meurs prepared Nova Virginiae Tabula for publication in the Dutch edition of Montanus’s Die Unbekante Neue Welt, the first encyclopedia of the Americas. According to Tooley in The Mapping of America, page 168, this is a careful copy of the Hondius-Blaue derivative of the John Smith map (derivative 1, state 2). It is smaller in size and more decorative. The pictorial representations of the Indian chief Powhatan and the Susquehannock figure depicted on the original map have been replaced on this version by an attractive cartouche featuring two Indian figures admiring a llama, a goat, and a unicorn—animals thought by some Europeans to be native to Virginia. This particular map does not include a watermark.
Derivative 8, State 1, Impression 1
Nova Virginia Tabula. In Arnoldus Montanus Die Unbekante Neue Welt. Amsterdam, 1673.
Special Collections
Call number: E143 M77 1673
Derivative 8, State 1, Impression 2
Nova Virginia Tabula. In John Ogilby, America: Being the Latest and Most Accurate Description of the New World. London, 1671.
Special Collections
Call number: E143 O33 1671
Nova Virginia Tabula was originally prepared by Meurs for publication in Die Unbekante Neue Welt. John Ogilby published the English translation, America: Being the Latest and Most Accurate Description of the New World in 1671.
Derivative 8, State 2
Virginie Grande Region de l’ Amerique Septentrionale Pierre Vander AA.
Engraved by Jacob Meurs
Published in La Galerie Agreable du Monde . . . , Aa, P. vander
Published 1729, Vol. 63–64
755/1729?
Call number: G3880 1729 .A3
The cartouches, scale, title, and the “Notarum Explicatio” from State 1 have been removed and replaced by a single cartouche; a new scale of German and French leagues is given; and three counties in eastern Maryland have been added.
Derivative 9, State 1
A Map of Virginia and Maryland. Sold by Thomas Bassett in Fleet Street, and Richard Chiswell in St. Pauls Church-yard.
Engraved by Francis Lamb
Published by Thomas Bassett and Richard Chiswell in John Speed, The Theatre of the Empire of Great Britain. London
Published in 1676
755/1676
Call number: G3880 1676 .S7
In 1676 the English publishers Thomas Bassett and Richard Chiswell issued an edition of John Speed’s popular atlas entitled The Theatre of the Empire of Great Britain. In the atlas’s addendum, called “A Prospect of the most Famous parts of the World,” the publishers added new maps of the colonies of New England, Virginia, and Maryland. A Map of Virginia and Maryland was prepared by the English engraver Francis Lamb. It incorporates an interesting combination of information derived from the obsolete Smith map and Augustine Herrman’s map Virginia and Maryland As it is Planted and Inhabited this present Year 1670. This is the last major derivative of the John Smith map and is a unique example of transition from one basic prototype map to another.
Derivative 9, State 1
A Map of Virginia and Maryland. Sold by Thomas Bassett in Fleet Street, and Richard Chiswell in St. Pauls Church-yard. In John Speed’s The Theatre of the Empire of Great Britain. London: Thomas Bassett and Richard Chiswell, 1676.
Special Collections
Call number: DA11 S7 1676