ALEXANDRIA
Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser – Film 54 and Boxed
Coverage: Primarily the Alexandria area including Berkeley, Fairfax, and Loudoun counties, with some coverage of Richmond, Powhatan, and Prince William counties
Film 54: 1784: Feb. 5–Feb. 12; Feb. 26–Dec. 31; 1785: Jan.–Dec.; 1786: Jan. 1–26; Mar. 2, Mar. 23-30; Apr. 6–12; Apr. 28; 1787: Jan. 4–25; Feb. 8–July 5; July 19–26; Aug. 23–Dec. 13; 1788: Feb. 5–12; Dec. 4; 1789: Mar. 26; May 21
Boxed: 1784: Mar. 25–Apr. 22; 1786: Nov. 30
[continued by Virginia Gazette and Alexandria Advertiser]
Virginia Gazette and Alexandria Advertiser – Film 54
Coverage: Alexandria area including Fredericksburg, and Loudoun and Westmoreland counties
Summary holdings: 1789: Sept. 3–1793: Sept. 19 (see complete holdings)
Columbian Mirror and Alexandria Gazette – Film 54, Film 55, Film 2543, and Boxed
Coverage: Alexandria area including Fairfax and Loudoun counties
Summary holdings: 1793: Dec. 18–1800: Dec. 6 (see complete holdings)
[continued by Alexandria Advertiser and Commercial Intelligencer]
Alexandria Advertiser and Commercial Intelligencer – Film 56 and Virginia Chronicle
Summary holdings: 1800: Dec.8–1803: Sept. 16 (see complete holdings)
Times and Alexandria Advertiser – Film 55
Coverage: Alexandria area including Fairfax and Loudoun counties
1797: Apr. 14
[continued by Times; and District of Columbia Daily Advertiser]
Times; and District of Columbia Daily Advertiser – Film 55
Summary holdings: 1799: Aug. 7–1802: July 31
FINCASTLE (Botetourt County)
Herald of Virginia, and Fincastle Weekly Advertiser – Film 322
1800: Dec. 5
FREDERICKSBURG
Virginia Herald, and Fredericksburg Advertiser– Film 49, Film 49a, and Film 49b
Coverage: Fredericksburg and Culpeper, Caroline, Essex, Fauquier, King George, Orange, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Westmoreland counties
Film 49b: 1787: Sept. 6; Oct. 11; Nov. 8; Nov. 22; 1788: Apr. 17 (supplement only)
Film 49a: 1788: Mar. 27; June 5–July 3; July 24–31; Aug. 7–14; Aug. 28–Dec. 25; 1789: Jan. 1–Feb. 26; Mar. 12–May 21; July 2–Dec. 31; 1790: Jan. 7–May 20; June 24; Aug. 5–Dec. 31; 1791: Jan. 1–Dec. 29
Film 49: 1792: Jan. 5–19; Apr. 12; Apr. 26–May 24; June 28–Dec. 27; 1793: Jan. 3–Oct. 3; Oct 1–Dec. 26; 1794: Jan. 2–27; Apr. 3–Dec. 31; 1795: Jan. 1–Oct. 16
[continued by Virginia Herald, and Fredericksburg & Falmouth Advertiser]
Virginia Herald, and Fredericksburg & Falmouth Advertiser – Film 49, Film 49a, Film 49b, and Boxed
Film 49: 1795: Oct. 20–Dec. 29
Film 49a: 1795: Oct. 20–Dec. 29; 1796: Dec. 9
Film 49b: 1797: Jan. 13,
Boxed: partial issues 1796: Mar. 4; Dec. 23; reproduction: 1796: Dec. 9
[continued by Virginia Herald]
Virginia Herald – Film 49, Film 49a, Film 49b, Film 397, Film 2331 and Boxed
Summary holdings: 1798: Feb. 14–1876: Dec. 28 (see complete holdings)
LEESBURG (Loudoun County)
True American – Film 1695 and Boxed
Film 1695: 1800: Dec. 30
Boxed reproduction : 1799: Jan. 15
LYNCHBURG
Lynchburg Weekly Gazette – Boxed and Virginia Chronicle
Coverage: Amherst, Bedford, Appomattox, and Campbell Counties
Boxed: 1800: Sept. 27; 1802: Dec. 29 (Henry County Misc. oversized materials box 4; box barcode 1154922); reproductions: 1799: Feb. 16; Mar. 2; Mar. 16
MARTINSBURG
Potowmac Guardian, and Berkeley Advertiser – Film 323, Film 324, Film 2198, and Boxed
Coverage: Berkeley County
Summary holdings: 1791: June 27–1797: Dec. 28 (see complete holdings)
[continued by Potomak Guardian]
Potomak Guardian – Film 323 and Film 2349
Film 323: 1798: Mar. 3; 1800: Jan. 8. Filmed w/ miscellaneous Valley of Virginia and West Virginia newspapers
Film 2349: 1798: Aug. 1–Oct. 24; Nov. 7–Dec. 26; 1799: Jan. 2–31; Feb. 20–Apr. 10; Apr. 24–May 22; June 6; June 19–Oct. 23
Berkeley Intelligencer – Film 325, Film 1973, and Boxed
Coverage: Berkeley County
Film 325: 1799: Sept. 18; Oct 2–Dec. 11; Dec. 25: 1800: Dec. 3–Dec. 31; 1801: Jan. 1–Jan. 21
Film 1973: 1799: Sept. 18; Oct 2–Dec. 11; 1800: Dec. 3–Dec. 31; 1801: Jan. 1–Jan. 21
Boxed: 1799: Oct. 16–23; 1800: Jan. 1; Jan. 15
MECKLENBURG (Berkeley County)
Potowmac Guardian, and Berkeley Advertiser – Film 323, Film 324, Film 2198, and Boxed
Summary holdings: 1791: June 27–1797: Dec. 28 (see complete holdings)
[Published at Martinsburg, Va.<1792>–Jan. 15, 1798]
Impartial Observer, or, Shepherd's-town, Charles-town, & County Advertiser – Film 324 and Film 2198
Film 324: 1797: Sept. 13
Film 2198: 1797: Oct. 11
NORFOLK
Virginia Gazette or, Norfolk Intelligencer – Film 43, Film 11A, and Boxed
Coverage: Norfolk and Portsmouth
Film 43: 1774: June 9–July 28; Aug. 11–Oct. 20; Dec. 29-Dec. 31; 1775: Jan. 1–Jan. 12; Feb. 9; Mar. 9–16; Apr. 20; May 4; May 25; June 15; June 21–Aug. 2; Aug. 16–Sept. 20
Film 11A: 1774: Aug. 4; 1775: Feb. 9–16; June 21; July 5; Sept. 6. Some issues filmed out of order.
Boxed reproductions: 1774: June 9–Nov. 3; 1775: Jan. 5–19; Feb. 9–23; Mar. 9–16; Apr. 20; May 4; May 25; June 15–Sept. 20. Nov. 3, 1774 and Jan. 12, 1775 are supplements.
Virginia Gazette – Film 43 and Film 338
Published on board the ship "Dunmore" by the British commander Lord Dunmore following the occupation of Norfolk, Sept. 30, 1775 (Brigham, C. S.).
Film 43: 1775: Nov. 25; 1776: Feb. 3
Film 338: 1776: Feb. 3
Norfolk and Portsmouth Journal – Film 308 and Boxed
Coverage: Norfolk, Portsmouth, Princess Anne County and more distant cities including Alexandria, Petersburg, and Richmond
Film 308: 1787: July 18; Sept. 28; Nov. 21; Dec. 12; 1788: Jan. 9; Jan. 30–Mar. 19; Apr. 2–May 7; May 28–Dec. 31; 1789: July 7–21; Feb. 4; Feb. 18–25; Apr. 29–May 6
Boxed: 1788: Mar. 12–19. Issue for Mar. 19 is a partial copy.
Norfolk and Portsmouth Gazette – Film 308
Coverage: Norfolk and Portsmouth
1789: Sept. 23–30; Oct. 8; Oct. 21
Norfolk and Portsmouth Chronicle – Film 308 and Boxed
Coverage: Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Southampton and Princess Anne counties
Film 308: 1789: Sept. 26; Oct. 10; Oct. 24; 1790: Apr. 24–May 8; June 12; July 10; Aug. 14; Aug. 28; 1791: Mar. 19–26; Apr. 9; June 18; July 9; July 23; Sept. 10; Sept. 24; Nov. 19–Dec. 31; 1792: Jan. 7–14; Feb. 25; Mar. 3–10; June 2
Boxed: 1789: Sept. 26; 1790: Aug. 7; Aug. 21; reproduction: 1789: Sept. 26
[continued by Virginia Chronicle and Norfolk and Portsmouth General Advertiser]
Virginia Chronicle and Norfolk and Portsmouth General Advertiser – Film 308
1792: Aug. 18; Sept. 8–Dec. 29; 1793: Jan. 5–Feb. 2; Feb. 23–Apr. 6; Apr. 20; May 4–11; June 1–22; July 6–13; Aug. 3; Aug. 24–Oct. 5; Oct. 19–Nov. 9; Nov. 23; Dec. 21–28; 1794: Feb. 1–8; Feb. 22; Mar. 1–8; Mar. 29–Apr. 5
[continued by Virginia Chronicle and General Advertiser]
Virginia Chronicle and General Advertiser – Film 308
1794: Apr. 11–Aug. 14; Aug. 21–28; Sept. 1–25; Oct. 6–22
[continued by Virginia Chronicle]
Virginia Chronicle – Film 308
1794: Nov. 13–20; Nov. 27–Dec. 1; Dec. 11–19
American Gazette, and Norfolk and Portsmouth Weekly Advertiser – Film 194
Coverage: Norfolk Borough and County, Portsmouth, and Nansemond, York, Prince George, Elizabeth City, and Gloucester counties
1793: Sept. 25; 1794: Mar. 19
[continued by American Gazette, and Norfolk and Portsmouth Public Advertiser]
American Gazette, and Norfolk and Portsmouth Public Advertiser – Film 194 and Boxed
Film 194: 1794: May 21; Oct. 21; 1795: Jan. 23; Mar. 17; Apr. 7; May 8; May 15–19; June 2; June 30; July 14; Sept. 1–29; Oct. 6–Dec. 29; 1796: Jan. 1–29; Feb. 5–26; Mar. 4–Apr. 26
Boxed: 1794: May 17
[continued by American Gazette]
American Gazette – Film 194
1796: May 6
[continued by American Gazette & General Advertiser]
American Gazette & General Advertiser – Film 194
1796: May 10–June 3; June 10–28; July 5–Sept. 6; Sept. 13–Nov. 22; Nov. 29; Dec. 9–30; 1797: Jan. 3–13; Feb. 7–17; Feb. 28–Mar. 3; Mar. 14–21; Mar. 28; Apr. 5–11; June 2; Nov. 7
Herald, and Norfolk and Portsmouth Advertiser – Film 191
Coverage: Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Princess Anne, Elizabeth City, Nansemond, Warwick and Isle of Wight counties
1794: Nov. 15; Nov. 29; Dec. 6–31; 1795: Jan. 3–7; Jan. 29; Aug. 12–24; Aug. 31; Sept. 7; Sept. 28–Oct. 3; Oct. 8–10; Oct. 15–22; Oct. 26–Nov. 5. Film includes several Norfolk titles.
[continued by Herald]
Herald – Film 191
1795: Nov. 9–14; Nov. 19–26; Nov. 30. Film includes several Norfolk titles.
[continued by Norfolk Herald]
Norfolk Herald – Film 191
1795: Dec. 3–Dec. 31; 1796: Jan. 1–Jan. 23; Jan. 28–Feb. 6; Feb. 11; Feb. 15–27; Mar. 3–Apr. 7; Apr. 11–May 9; May 16; May 23–July 28; Aug. 25; Sept. 1–26; Oct. 1–31. Film includes several Norfolk titles.
[continued by Norfolk Herald and Public Advertiser]
Norfolk Herald and Public Advertiser – Film 191
1796: Nov. 3–21; Nov. 26–Dec. 19; Dec. 29–31; 1797: Jan. 2–7; Jan. 12–Feb. 18; Feb. 25; Mar. 2; Mar. 6–16; Mar. 20–Apr. 1; Apr. 6–May 1; May 6–June 12; June 17–July 15; July 20–Aug. 17; Aug. 21; Aug. 26–Nov. 30; Dec. 4–21; Dec. 25–30; 1798: Jan. 2–Feb. 10; Feb. 15–17. Film includes several Norfolk titles.
[continued by Norfolk Herald]
Norfolk Herald – Film 191
Summary holdings: 1798: Feb. 22–1804: July 7 (see complete holdings)
Norfolk Weekly Journal and Country Intelligencer – Film 193
Coverage: Norfolk and Portsmouth
1797: Sept. 6–Dec. 13; 1798: Jan. 3–Feb. 14; Mar. 21–May 9; May 30–Sept. 19
Epitome of the Times, or, Historical, Political, and Commercial Miscellany – Film 309
Coverage: Norfolk and Portsmouth
1798: June 28; July 4; Nov. 12
[continued by Epitome of the Times]
Epitome of the Times – Film 309
1799: July 25; 1800: Sept. 25; Oct. 2–27; Nov. 24; Dec. 1; Dec. 8; Dec. 30. Filmed with Commercial Register (Norfolk, Va.).