PETERSBURG
Virginia Gazette and Petersburg Intelligencer – Film 51, Film 51A, and Boxed
Coverage: Petersburg and Brunswick, Dinwiddie, Sussex, and Mecklenburg counties
Summary holdings: 1786: Sept. 14–1800: Apr. 1 (see complete holdings)
[continued by Petersburg Intelligencer]
Petersburg Intelligencer – Film 51, Film 51A, and Boxed
Summary holdings: 1800: June 17–1815: June 19 (see complete holdings)
Independent Ledger and Petersburg and Blandford Public Advertiser – Film 314
1793: May 8
The Virginia Star; and Petersburg Weekly Advertiser – Film 314
Coverage: Petersburg
1795: Apr. 30; June 4–11; July 2; July 16
Republican – Film 310
Summary holdings: 1800: June 12–1802: July 1 (see complete holdings)
RICHMOND
Virginia Gazette – Film 44, Film 44B, and Boxed
Printers: John Dixon & Thomas Nicolson
Coverage: Richmond (city), Williamsburg, and adjacent counties
[continues Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.: 1736)]
Film 44: 1780: June 7–Dec. 30; 1781: Feb. 3; Feb. 17–Mar. 10; Mar. 24–Apr. 21; May 19
Film 44B: 1780: Aug. 16–26
Boxed: 1780: June 7–Dec. 30; 1781: Jan. 13; Feb. 3; Feb. 17–24; Mar. 3–10; Mar. 24–31; Apr. 7–21; May 19. Includes supplements for Oct. 4, 1780 and Oct. 18, 1780.
Virginia Gazette, or, the American Advertiser – Film 44, Film 47, Film 47A, and Boxed
Summary holdings: 1781: Dec. 22–1786: Dec. 20 (see complete holdings)
Virginia Gazette, or Weekly Advertiser – Film 44
Coverage: entire state but mainly Richmond (city) and New Kent, Princess Anne, James City, Henrico, Spotsylvania, and Chesterfield counties
1782: Jan. 5–Feb. 9
[continued by Virginia Gazette, and Weekly Advertiser]
Virginia Gazette, and Weekly Advertiser – Film 44, Film 48, and Boxed
Summary holdings: 1782: Jan. 5–1797: Apr. 22 (see complete holdings)
Virginia Gazette, or, the Independent Chronicle – Film 44, Film 44B, and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city)
Film 44: 1783: Nov. 15–22; Dec. 13
Film 44A: 1783: Dec. 13
Boxed: 1783: Nov. 15–22
[continued by Virginia Gazette and Independent Chronicle]
Virginia Gazette and Independent Chronicle – Film 44, Film 44B, Boxed, and Virginia Chronicle
Film 44: 1784: Apr. 24; May 22; June 12; Aug. 7; Nov. 27; 1785: Jan. 29; Feb. 26; Mar. 5; Mar. 26; Apr. 9; May 21; Aug. 6; 1787: June 23; Oct. 6; Dec. 22–29; 1788: June 21-28; Oct. 25; Nov. 15; 1789: June 9
Film 44B: 1784: May 22; June 12; Nov. 27; 1785: May 21; 1786: Dec. 9
Boxed: 1785: Oct. 8; 1787: Dec. 22–29; 1788: June 21; 1789: June 6. Issues for June 21, 1788 and June 6, 1789 are supplements.
[continued by Virginia Gazette, and Public Advertiser]
Virginia Gazette, and Public Advertiser – Film 44 and Boxed
Film 44: 1791: June 18–July 9; July 23–30; Sept. 17; 1792: Mar. 3; Apr. 14; 1793: Jan. 5–Feb. 16
Boxed: 1790: Dec. 4; 1792: Dec. 29; 1793: Jan. 5–Feb. 16. The 1790 issue is contained in U.S. District Court, Virginia District, Ended Cases, United States vs. Goods in Sloop Betsey, 1790, Federal Records Collection. The 1792 issue is damaged.
Virginia Independent Chronicle – Film 42, Film 44, Film 44B, and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city) with content from entire state
Film 42: 1786: July 26–Aug. 2; Aug. 16–30; Sept. 13–Nov. 1; Nov. 15–Dec. 27; 1787: Jan. 10; Jan. 24–Apr. 4; Apr. 18–May 2; May 16–Dec. 26; 1788: Jan. 2–May 21; 1789: Jan. 7–Mar. 25
Film 44B: 1787: Mar. 28; Apr. 4; 1788: June 11; Nov. 19
Film 44: 1788: May 28–July 16; July 30–Aug. 6; Aug. 20–Oct. 1; Oct. 15–Dec. 31; 1789: Apr. 1–May 6
Boxed: 1786: July 26–Aug. 2; Aug. 16–30; Sept. 13–Nov. 1; Nov. 15–29; Dec. 6–27; 1787: Jan. 10; Jan. 24–31; Feb. 7–Mar. 28; Apr. 4; Apr. 18–Dec. 26; 1788: Jan. 2–May 21; July 23; 1789: Jan. 7–Mar. 25
[continued by Virginia Independent Chronicle, and General Advertiser]
Virginia Independent Chronicle, and General Advertiser – Film 42, Film 44, and Film 44B
Film 44: 1789: May 13–Dec. 31; 1790: Jan. 1–Aug. 18
Film 42: 1790: Mar. 3
Film 44B: 1790: May 12, May 26–June 2
[continued by Virginia Gazette, and General Advertiser]
Virginia Gazette, and General Advertiser – Film 44, Film 44A, Film 44B, and Boxed
Coverage: entire state with emphasis on Richmond (city) and Albemarle, Buckingham, Caroline, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Hanover, Henrico, King William, Louisa, Powhatan, and Prince Edward counties
Summary Holdings: 1790: Aug. 25–1809: Dec. 19 (see complete holdings)
Virginia Gazette: and Richmond Daily Advertiser – Film 44 and Boxed
Film 44: 1792: Oct. 1; Oct. 4; Oct. 6; Oct. 12; Oct. 20; Oct. 25; Oct. 27; Oct. 29; Oct. 31; Nov. 5; Nov. 19; Nov. 23; Nov. 27; Dec. 7; Dec. 21; Dec. 24; Dec. 28; Dec. 31
Boxed: 1792: Oct. 1; Oct. 4; Oct. 6; Oct. 12; Oct. 20; Oct. 25; Oct. 27; Oct. 29; Oct. 31; Nov. 5; Nov. 19; Nov. 23; Nov. 27; Dec. 7; Dec. 21; Dec. 24; Dec. 28; Dec. 31
Virginia Gazette & Richmond Chronicle – Film 44, Film 44B and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city)
Film 44: 1793: Apr. 6; June 7; July 12; Aug. 16; Aug. 30; Sept. 13; Dec. 6; Dec. 31; 1794: Jan. 3; Jan. 24–28; Feb. 11; Feb. 21; Mar. 7–14; Mar. 21; Mar. 28; Apr. 1; May 6; June 13; July 1; July 29; Aug. 1; Aug. 15; Sept. 30; Oct. 3–17; Nov. 11–25; Dec. 5; 1795: Jan. 13; Mar. 3; Mar. 10–13, Mar. 24; Apr. 3; Apr. 11; Apr. 14–18; Apr. 25; May 5–12; May 19
Film 44B: 1794: Oct. 3
Boxed: 1793: June 7; July 12; Aug. 16; Dec. 6; Dec. 31; 1794: Jan. 28; Feb. 11; Mar. 28; July 29; Oct. 17. Issue for July 29, 1794 is a photostat copy.
[continued by Richmond Chronicle]
Richmond Chronicle – Boxed
1795: July 28; Dec. 18; 1796: Apr. 13
Virginia Gazette, and Richmond and Manchester Advertiser – Film 40, Film 44 and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city) and Amelia, Goochland, and Powhatan counties
Film 40: 1793: Apr. 22; Apr. 29–May 9; May 16–23; May 30–June 13; June 20; June 27; Aug. 8; Nov. 25; Dec. 5; Dec. 16; 1794: Apr. 17; Nov. 6; 1795: Jan. 22
Film 44: 1793: Apr. 15–29; May 9; May 13; May 20–27; June 3–10; June 20–24; July 1–4; July 11–Aug. 15; Aug. 22–Sept. 9; Sept. 30–Oct. 3; Oct. 17; Oct. 24–31; Nov. 7–11; Nov. 25–Dec. 16; Dec. 26; 1794: Jan. 2–23; Jan. 30–Feb. 3; Feb. 10; Feb. 17; Feb. 24–July 10; July 17–Aug. 21; Aug. 28–Sept. 22; Sept. 29–Oct. 16; Oct. 23–30; Nov. 6–12; Nov. 29
Boxed: 1793: Apr. 22; Apr. 29; May 2–9; May 16–23; May 30; June 3–13; June 20; June 27; Aug. 8; Nov. 25; Dec. 5; Dec. 16; 1794: Apr. 17; Nov. 6; 1795: Jan. 22
[continued by Richmond and Manchester Advertiser]
Richmond and Manchester Advertiser – Film 40 and Boxed
Film 40: 1795: July 23; Sept. 5; 1796: Apr. 9; Apr. 27; Apr. 30; May 7; July 30
Boxed: 1795: July 23; Sept. 5; 1796: Apr. 9; Apr. 27; Apr. 30; May 7; June 30
[continued by Virginia Argus]
Virginia Argus – Film 40, Film 41, Film 44B, Film 44C, Boxed, and Virginia Chronicle
Coverage: Richmond (city), and Henrico, Chesterfield, Pittsylvania, Cumberland, and Goochland counties
Summary Holdings: 1797: Feb. 14–1816: Oct. 16 (see complete holdings)
Observatory; or, a View of the Times – Film 240 and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city)
Film 240: 1797: Aug. 31; Sept. 7; 1798: June 14; July 19–Aug. 9; Aug. 27–30; Sept. 6
Boxed: 1798: June 14; Aug. 13; Aug. 16; Sept. 3; Sept. 6
[continued by Dixon's Observatory]
Dixon's Observatory – Film 240 and Boxed
Film 240: 1798: Sept. 13; Sept. 24; Oct. 1; Nov. 5–8
Boxed: 1798: Sept. 17–Nov. 29
[continued by Examiner]
Examiner – Film 240, Film 240A, Boxed, and Virginia Chronicle
Coverage: Richmond (city) and Caroline, Louisa, Goochland, Gloucester, and Prince William counties
Summary holdings: 1798: Dec. 3–1804: Jan. 10 (see complete holdings)
Virginia Federalist – Film 240 and Boxed
Coverage: Richmond (city) and central Virginia
Film 240: 1799: June 1–12; July 13; July 20; Aug. 3; Aug. 14; Aug. 17; Aug. 24; Aug. 28; Sept. 4–18; Oct. 5-26; Nov. 2; Nov. 23; Dec. 11–21; 1800: Jan. 8–22; Feb. 5; Feb. 26; Mar. 5; Mar. 19; Mar. 29; Apr. 12; Apr. 19; Apr. 26; Apr. 30; May 7–Aug. 2
Boxed: 1799: Aug. 3 ("extra"); Aug. 14; 1800: Jan. 22; Feb. 26; July 19; July 23; July 30
The Press – Boxed
1800: Jan. 6. Sixteen-page prospectus to establish the paper.
Friend of the People – Film 1931 and Boxed
Film 1931: 1800: Jan. 15; Apr. 2–9; June 14–21
Boxed: 1800: Jan. 15; Apr. 2–9; June 14–21. April and June issues are printed on reverse sides of single sheets.
Press, or, Friend of the People – Film 240 and Boxed
Film 240: 1800: Feb. 6
Boxed: 1800: Feb. 6