Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virginia Yearbooks Digital Collection

About the Project

History

The Virginia Yearbook Digitization Project started in the summer of 2012. The Library of Virginia's Library Development and Networking Division started a project that included loaning scanners and computers to Virginia public libraries in the hope of bringing to light hidden local history collections.

This project was started and continues to be funded with Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grants provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), whose mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people with ideas. These funds cover the shipping and scanning of the materials by the professional scanners at the Internet Archive, as well as project management services by LYRASIS. This allows the yearbooks to be digitized via partnerships with Virginia's public libraries with no monetary cost to them

Project Focus

The project is focused on digitizing yearbooks from Virginia public high schools, and the majority of the items in the collection fit this description. There are also a few items from public elementary and middle schools, as well as public colleges and private colleges that are no longer active. Since we partner with public libraries, many of the digitized collections reflect what each library holds in their physical collection. We are striving to make the collection more inclusive by supplementing the gaps with items from the Library of Virginia's collections and acquiring additional yearbooks we do not currently hold.

Donations

For information regarding donations of yearbooks, please contact makinghistory@virginamemory.com.