Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The 1753 Fry-Jefferson Map and Its Predecessors and Derivatives

Guide to the Fry-Jefferson Map of Virginia and related maps in the Library of Virginia's collection

Bibliography

Advertisement for map. Virginia Gazette, April 11, 1755, p. 3, col. 1.

Babinski, Mark. “Henry Popple’s Map of the British Empire in North America (London, 1733): Derivatives and Copies of the Popple Map.” Osher Map Library.

Bailey, Kenneth. “Christopher Gist and the Trans-Allegheny Frontier: A Phase of the Westward Movement.” Pacific Historical Review 14, no. 1 (March 1945): 45–56.

Bowman, Forrest J. “The Troublesome and Difficult Affair Surveying the Fairfax Line.” West Virginia History 33, no. 3 (1972): 248–261.

Brown, Lloyd Arnold. Early Maps of the Ohio Valley: A Selection of Maps, Plans, and Views Made by Indians and Colonials from 1673 to 1783. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1959.

Cummings, William P. The Southeast in Early Maps. 3d edition. Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina Press, 1998.

Docktor, John W. “Nicholas and William Scull of Pennsylvania.” Portolan 33 (Summer 1995): 11–17.

Edney, Matthew. “John Mitchell’s Map: An Irony of Empire.” Osher Map Library.

Elliot, Clark A. “Joshua Fry.” In Biographical Dictionary of American Science: The Seventeenth Century Through the Nineteenth Centuries, 96–97. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979.

French, Josephine, et al., eds. Tooley’s Dictionary of Mapmakers. Revised Edition, K–P. Riverside, CT: Early World Press, 2003.

Gipson, Lawrence Henry. Lewis Evans. Philadelphia: The Historical Society of Pennsylvania, 1939.

Hallisey, Jane. “Thomas Jefferson, Cartographer: A Father’s Legacy to His Renaissance Son.” Mercator’s World 1, no. 3 (1996): 22–27.

Harrison, Fairfax. Landmarks of Old Prince William: A Study of Origins in Northern Virginia. 2d reprint edition. Baltimore: Gateway Press, 1987.

—————. “The Northern Neck Maps of 1737–1747.” William and Mary College Quarterly Historical Magazine, 2d ser., 4 (January 1924): 1–15.

—————. “The Virginians on the Ohio and the Mississippi in 1742.” Virginia Magazine of History and Biography 30 (April 1922): 203–222.

Hughes, Sarah Shaver. Surveyors and Statesmen: Land Measuring in Colonial Virginia. Richmond: Virginia’s Surveyors Foundation and the Virginia Association of Surveyors, 1979.

Huntingfield Map Collection. Maryland State Archives Special Collections.

“Joshua Fry.” In American National BiographyEdited by Mark C. Carnes and John A. Garraty, 8:526–527. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

“Joshua Fry.” In Dictionary of American Biography. Edited by Allen Johnson and Dumas Malone, 7:48–49. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1931.

Keith, Charles P. “Sir William Keith.” Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography 12, no. 1 (1888): 1–33.

Lemon, James T. “Urbanization and the Development of Eighteenth-Century Southeastern Pennsylvania and Adjacent Delaware.” William and Mary Quarterly, 3d ser., 24 (October 1967): 502–542.

Malone, Dumas. Jefferson the Virginian. Vol. 1 of Jefferson and His Time. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1948.

“William Mayo.” In Dictionary of American Biography. Edited by Dumas Malone, 12:464. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1943.

Morrison, Russell. On the Map. Chestertown, Md.: Washington College, 1983.

Mulkearn, Louis. “Why the Treaty of Logstown, 1752?” Virginia Magazine of History and Biography 59 (January 1951): 3–20.

Norona, Delf, ed. “Joshua Fry’s Report on the Back Settlements of Virginia.” Virginia Magazine of History and Biography 56 (January 1948): 22–41.
Papenfuse, Edward C., and Joseph M. Coale III. The Maryland State Archives of Historical Maps of Maryland, 1608–1908. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2003.

Pedley, Mary Sponberg. Bel et Utile: The Work of Robert de Vaugondy Family of Mapmakers. Tring, Herts, Eng.: Map Collectors Publication, 1992.

__________. The Commerce of Cartography: Making and Marketing Maps in Eighteenth Century France and England. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2005.

__________. “Maps, War and Commerce: Business Correspondence with the London Map Firm of Thomas Jefferys and William Faden.” Imago Mundi 48 (1996): 161–173.

Pritchard, Margaret Beck, and Henry G. Taliaferro. Degrees in Latitude: Mapping Colonial America. Williamsburg, VA: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation in Association with Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 2002.

Reitan, E. A. “Expanding Horizons: ‘Maps in the Gentleman’s Magazine,’ 1731–1754.” Imago Mundi 37 (1985): 54–62.

Reinhartz, Dennis. “The World of Herman Moll.” Portolan 43 (Winter 1998–1999): 31–37.

Ristow, Walter. “John Mitchell’s Map of the British and French Dominions in North America.” In A La Carte: Selected Papers on Maps and Atlases. Edited by Walter Ristow, 103–108. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1972.

David Rumsey Map Collection. Cartography Associates.

Sanchez-Saavedra, E. M. A Description of the Country: Virginia’s Cartographers and Their Maps, 1607–1881. Richmond: Virginia State Library, 1975.

Schwartz, Seymour I., and Ralph E. Ehrenberg. The Mapping of America. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1980.

Smith, Ben A., and James W. Vining. American Geographers, 1784–1812: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2003.

Stephenson, Richard W. “Table Identifying Variant Editions and Impressions of John Mitchell’s Map of the British and French Dominions in North America.” In A La Carte: Selected Papers on Maps and Atlases. Edited by Walter Ristow, 109–113. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1972.

Stephenson, Richard W., and Marianne M. McKee, eds. Virginia in Maps: Four Centuries of Settlement, Growth, and Development. 2000; 2d printing, Richmond: Library of Virginia, 2007.

Taliaferro, Henry. “Fry and Jefferson Revisited.” Journal of the Early Southern Decorative Arts 39 (2013).

Verner, Coolie. Carto-Bibliographical Description of Printed Maps of Virginia. Falls Church, VA: American Congress on Surveying and Mapping, 1974. Microfilm copy.

__________. “Mr. Jefferson Makes a Map.” Imago Mundi 14 (1959): 96–108.

__________. “The Fry and Jefferson Map.” Imago Mundi 21 (1967): 70–94.

__________. “The Maps and Plates Appearing with the Several Editions of Mr. Jefferson’s Notes on the State of Virginia.” Virginia Magazine of History and Biography 59 (January 1951): 21–33.

Wheat, James Clements, and Christian F. Brun. Maps and Charts Published in America Before 1800: A Bibliography. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1969.