Research Guides & Indexes: Company History Research in Virginia: Newspapers & Magazines

Digital Collections

Websites

Virginia Cavalcade
An illustrated magazine of Virginia history and culture published from 1951 to 2002.
Virginia Chronicle
Historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to over 3 million newspaper pages.

Databases

America's News: Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from the Richmond Times-Dispatch (1985-current) and digital issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch (1903-1986).
*Due to the inclusion of some Richmond News Leader articles in this database, please check the microfilm to confirm the source for articles published August 19, 1985–May 30, 1992.

Inclusion of obituaries in the (1985–current) full-text database is inconsistent. If an obituary is not found in the database, users are encouraged to check the newspaper microfilm, as it may include obituaries that don't appear in the database.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital images of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (series 1–5) This link opens in a new window
A collection of periodical titles which date from the colonial period to the start of the twentieth century.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 full-text scholarly journals, including Business History Review (1954–2013), the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography (1893–), and the William and Mary Quarterly (1892–).
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of national and international newspapers with some content dating back to the 1700s. Virginia titles with extensive coverage include the Bee (Danville, VA), Bluefield Daily Telegraph, Danville Register, Harrisonburg Daily News Record, Progress Index (Petersburg, VA), Pulaski Southwest Times, Radford News Journal, and Winchester Star.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper and journal articles and economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries.
Newspapers.com (select Virginia titles) This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of 19th- and 20th-century Virginia newspapers. Some titles with extensive coverage include the Alexandria Gazette (1803–1922), Bristol Herald Courier (1907–1963), Covington Virginian (1923–1963), Free Lance-Star (1885–1963), Hopewell News (1926–1963), Richmond News Leader (1926–1963), Norfolk Virginian (1865–1898), and the Virginian-Pilot (1899–1963).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Black Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A digital collection that includes the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916–2010).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. The Washington Post (1877–2007) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of pages.

Physical Collections

Virginia Business. Richmond: Media General Business Communications, 1986–.
Call number: HF5065 V8 V81

Wall Street Journal. New York: Dow Jones, 1889–2009.
Microfilm: Film 221
Index 1955–2009: HG1 W258 / HG1 W26

Indexes

These books index articles from newspapers and journals.

Business Periodicals Index. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1959–2002.
Call number: Z7164 C81 B98
This publication indexes articles from national business magazines by topic and company name.

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1900–2008. (select years online)
Call number: AI3 R485
Earlier editions of this index can be a resource to national publications with articles about companies.

Swem, E. G. Virginia Historical Index. Gloucester, MA: P. Smith, 1965.
Call number: F221 S93
This publication indexes 19th- and early 20th-century historical and genealogical journals, as well as publications related to Virginia history. As a business resource, this index is particularly strong for references to insurance companies and railroads.