Skip to main content

Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home Applications

Applications of Confederate veterans who were admitted to the Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home in Richmond, Virginia

Search the Collection

Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home Applications

Overview

This collection consists of over 2,800 applications of Confederate veterans who were admitted to the R.E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home in Richmond, a benevolent society that operated from 1883 to 1941.

Applications include the veteran's enlistment date and place, rank, company, regiment, date and place of discharge, and cause of discharge. Applications may also include war records and correspondence.

In addition to the digitized applications, most entries index corresponding pages in the Roster of R.E. Lee Camp, No 1, 1883–1932 (1 vol.) and Register of Lee Camp Soldiers' Home, 1885–1939 (3 vols.). The roster lists officers from 1883 to 1919 as well as veterans' name, address, date of membership, age, "Recommended to camp by," enlistment, birthplace, rank, regiment, company, date of death, and other remarks. Registers list veterans' name, age, place of birth, company, regiment, cause of admission, "by whom sent," cause of discharge, and other remarks.

These records, available on microfilm, are part of the State Government Records Collection, Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home (Record Group 52). They are described on pg. 57 of the Guide to State Records in the Archives Branch of the Virginia State Library and Archives.

Search Tips

  • Entries are searchable by veteran's name, rank, place of residence, and service unit. Entries may also include date and cause of admission, age, military certificate number, birthplace, date enlisted, and other biographical details. Given names may be abbreviated.
  • Using quotes around phrases may return fewer, more relevant results.
  • Boolean operators OR, NOT and AND written in ALL CAPS may be used.  By default, all search terms will be combined with the AND operator. To exclude terms, use the NOT operator before a term.
  • Wildcards can be used to find variant spellings or words. The question mark (?) will match any one character. For instance, "Ols?n" will match "Olsen" or "Olson". The asterisk (*) will match any number of characters (including zero). "Ch*ter" will match "Charter", "Character", and "Chapter", and "Temp*" will match "Temptation", "Temple", and "Temporary".

Related Resources

  • Agency History: Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home
  • Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home (Richmond, Va.), Applications for Admission, 1884–1941, Acc. 24736 (Main Microfilm, Cabinet 89), State Government Records Collection, The Library of Virginia, Richmond.
  • Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home (Richmond, Va.), Registers of Lee Camp Soldiers' Home, 1885–1939, Acc. 24736 (Main Microfilm, Cabinet 89), State Government Records Collection, The Library of Virginia, Richmond.
  • Robert E. Lee Camp Confederate Soldiers' Home (Richmond, Va.), Roster of R. E. Lee Camp, No. 1, 1883–1932 and Registers of Lee Camp Soldiers’ Home, 1883–1939, Acc. 21220 (Main Microfilm, Cabinet 89), State Government Records Collection, The Library of Virginia, Richmond.

Revised February 2021