Skip to Main Content

Queer History Research in Virginia

Published and archival sources for researching the history of LGBTQ+ individuals and communities in Virginia

LGBTQ+ Archives

Virginia and Washington DC

Archive of American LGBTQ Political and Legal History (William & Mary)
The Fight for LGBTQ Rights (DC History Center)
A History of DC Pride's Places and Spaces (DataLensDC)
LGBTQ+ History at Virginia Tech
LGBTQ Heritage in Virginia (Virginia Department of Historic Resources)
Mattachine Society of Washington, D.C.
Rainbow History Project
Southwest Virginia LGBTQ+ History Project
Tidewater Queer History Project
VCU Libraries Special Collections & Archives
Includes numerous collections related to LGBTQ+ organizations and individuals in Richmond and Central Virginia.
Virginia Museum of History and Culture Collections
Includes papers of a number of Richmond-area LGBTQ+ organizations.

General

Archive Grid (OCLC)
Locate primary source materials in over 1,400 archival institutions around the world.
Digital Transgender Archive
GLBT Historical Society
Lesbian Herstory Archives
LGBT Issues in Records at the National Archives
LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History (National Park Service)
LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress)
Includes the papers of Virginia/DC activists Lili Vincenz and Frank Kameny.
NYC Trans Oral History Project
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries
Stonewall National Museum, Archives, and Library