Skip to Main Content

Catalog User Guide

How to use the LVA catalog

Finding Library Materials

General Collection

The following materials can be found on the second floor of the library.

  • Main
  • Virginia Authors Room
  • Local History and Genealogy
  • Documents Reading Room
  • Reference
  • West Reference
  • Map Reference

In addition to books, some archival and published collections are available on microfilm on the second floor.

  • Land tax records
  • Vital statistics (birth, death, marriage)
  • Personal property tax records
  • Virginia Colonial Records project
  • Military records
  • Miscellaneous reels
  • Selected newspapers
  • City directories

Some items are located in the Closed Stacks, and must be requested through the library catalog. View the Request Items tab to learn more about how to request materials.

  • Closed Stacks
  • Closed Stacks - Circulating
  • Federal Documents
  • Federal Documents - Circulating 

Newspapers

  • Many newspapers are available on microfilm. A small portion are located in General Collection  Main Microfilm, but most are located in the closed stacks. 
  • Older newspapers that are not on microfilm appear as General Collection  Boxed Newspapers. These can be viewed in the Archives and Manuscripts Room. 
  • Recent papers that are not yet on microfilm appear as Current Newspapers  Current Issues. These can be requested in the catalog and checked out from the Circulation Desk.

Special Collections

To view items served in our Special Collections Reading Room, we encourage you to make an appointment. Visit our Ask a Research Question page to contact Special Collections.

  • Special Collections
  • Special Collections - Maps

Archives and Manuscripts Collections

Original archives and manuscript collections must be requested from the closed stacks by an archivist, and are only available in the Archives and Manuscripts Room. Items located in Remote Storage are housed at the State Records Center. Please ask us to have materials transferred to the main Library building for viewing.

  • Archives Reference
  • Manuscripts
  • Remote Storage

Checking Materials Out

Items marked Circulating and Virginia Authors Room can be taken out of the library by Virginia residents. All other materials are only available for use in the library building.

Digital Collections

In addition to published and archival materials, the catalog searches over 30 digital collections and indexes. To narrow your search to a specific collection, view our digital collection search pages.

The catalog does not search the following digital collections: