The Library of Virginia has an extensive collection of Civil War newspapers in original, microfilm, and digital formats. A list of selected Virginia and West Virginia newspapers published during the American Civil War is available on this page.
The Virginia Newspaper Directory can be used to view the Library's print and microfilm newspaper holdings.
Searchable digital images of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
A fully-indexed and keyword searchable electronic archive of the news and literary journal Harper's Weekly.
A digital collection that includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspapers which were specifically selected for the regional and diverse perspectives they offer.
|
Locality |
Title |
Format/Film Number |
Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABINGDON | Abingdon Virginian |
Film 1845 |
1862–1864 |
| ACCOMACK | Regimental Flag | Original | 1862 (one issue, Photostat) |
| ALEXANDRIA | Alexandria Gazette |
Film 6 |
1834–1974 |
| Local News |
Original Film 2012 |
1861–1862 1861–1862 |
|
| Soldiers' Journal |
Original |
1865 1864-1865 |
|
| Virginia Sentinel | Original | 1853–1861 | |
| BERRYVILLE | Berryville Conservator | Film 2303 | 1861 (one issue) |
| First Minnesota | Original | 1862 (Special Collections, one issue) | |
| CHARLOTTESVILLE | Charlottesville Daily Chronicle | Original | 1865 (one issue, Photostat) |
| Daily Chronicle | Original | 1864(one issue, Photostat) | |
| Review | Original | 1860–1861 | |
| CLARKSVILLE | Tobacco Plant | Film 295 | 1856–1870 |
| CULPEPER | Culpeper Observer |
Film 275 Original |
1852–1877 (two issues) 1860–1869 (four issues) |
| DANVILLE | Danville Appeal | Film 1889 | 1862–1865 (six issues) |
| Danville Monitor | Original | 1863 (one issue) | |
| Danville Register |
Film 1889 Original |
1848–1886 (four issues) 1864–1885 (three issues) |
|
| FARMVILLE | Farmville Journal | Original | 1861 (Chancery record) |
| FINCASTLE | Southern Express | Original | 1863 (one issue) |
| FREDERICKSBURG | Christian Banner | Film 1922 | 1850 (one issue), 1862 |
| Fredericksburg News |
Film 1087 Film 1087a |
1849–1862 1857–1862 |
|
| New Era | Film 1992 | 1865–1866 | |
| HARRISONBURG | Rockingham Register | Film 244 | 1862–1864 (two issues |
| LEESBURG | Democratic Mirror | Film 284 | 1861–1862 |
| LEXINGTON | Lexington Gazette | Film 203 | 1862–1865 |
| Valley Star | Film 16 | 1861 | |
| LYNCHBURG | Daily Republican | Original | 1862, 1864–1865 |
| Lynchburg Virginian | Film 13 | 1863–1865 | |
| Weekly Register | Original | 1864 | |
| NEW MARKET | Spirit of Democracy | Original | 1861 (one issue) |
| NORFOLK | Daily Old Dominion |
Film 2028 Film 2009 |
1864 1865 |
| Day Book |
Film 2010 Original |
1861–1862 | |
| PETERSBURG | Army and Navy Messenger |
Film 2308 Original |
1864 (one issue) 1863–1865 (eight issues) |
| Grant’s Petersburg Progress | Original | 1865 (two issues) | |
| Weekly Express | Original | 1861–1862 (three issues) | |
| RICHMOND | Daily Dispatch |
Film 20 |
1852–1884 |
| Daily Richmond Enquirer |
Film 23a–d Original |
1844–1864 1845–1867 |
|
| Daily Richmond Examiner | Film 366 | 1861–1867 | |
| Record of News, History and Literature | Original | 1863 (Special Collections) | |
| Religious Herald | Film 12 | 1861–1908 | |
| Richmonder Anzeiger |
Film 2122 |
1855–1866 | |
| Richmond Christian Advocate |
Original Film 2309 |
1844–1899 | |
| Richmond Daily Whig |
Film 144a |
1861–62 | |
| Richmond Semi-Weekly Examiner |
Film 2014 Original |
1850–1863 1849–1863 |
|
| Richmond Weekly Enquirer |
Film 23b |
1860–1862 | |
| Richmond Weekly Examiner |
Film 2058 |
1848–1863 | |
| Richmond Whig and Public Advertiser |
Film 144 Film 144a Film 2410 |
1835-1861 1862–1865 1860–1861 |
|
| Semi-Weekly Dispatch |
Film 2630 Original |
1859-1892 1859–1892 |
|
| Sentinel | Film 22 | 1863–1865 | |
| Soldier’s Paper | Film 1931 | 1865 (one issue) | |
| Southern Churchman |
Film 28 Film 1069 |
1861–1865 1835–1906 |
|
| Southern Illustrated News | Film 400 | 1862–1864 | |
| Southern Punch | Film 548 | 1863, 1865 | |
| Virginische Zeitung | Film 198a | 1861 | |
| Weekly Dispatch | Original | 1852–1901 | |
| STAUNTON | Staunton Spectator |
Film 342 |
1849–1896 |
| Staunton Vindicator | Film 238 | 1860–1898 | |
| WILLIAMSBURG | Cavalier |
Film 97 Film 151 |
1862–1864 |
| WINCHESTER | Connecticut Fifth |
Film 2298 Original |
1862 (one issue) 1862 (one issue) |
| Winchester Republican |
Film 574 Film 2302 |
1861 (one issue) 1861–1862 |
|
| WOODSTOCK | Tenth Legion | Film 1933 | 1861 (one issue) |
| WYTHEVILLE | Wytheville Dispatch |
Film 201 |
1862–1865 |
| WEST VIRGINIA NEWSPAPERS | |||
| CHARLESTON | Kanawha Valley Star |
Film 2271 Film 2344 |
1860–1861 1861 (one issue) |
| West Virginia Journal |
Film 2102 Film 2271 |
1865 (one issue) 1864–1865 |
|
| CHARLESTOWN | Virginia Free Press | Original | 1860 (one issue), 1862 (one issue) |
| CLARKSBURG | Clarksburg Patriot | Film 2435 | 1863 |
| FAIRMONT | Fairmont National |
Film 2193 Film 2307 Film 2345 Film 2348 Film 2443 |
1863 (one issue) 1862 (one issue). 1863–1864 (four issues) 1863 (one issue) 1862–1865 |
| Fairmont True Virginian | Film 432 | 1861 | |
| GAULEY BRIDGE | Knapsack | Original | 1863 |
| LEWISBURG | Greenbrier Weekly Era | Film 2194 | 1861 (one issue) |
| Lewisburg Chronicle | Film 2274 | 1861 | |
| MARTINSBURG | American Union |
Original |
1861 (one issue) 1861 (five issues) |
| Weekly Gazette | Original | 1863 (one issue) | |
| POINT PLEASANT | Eleventh Ohio | Film 2329 | 1862 (one issue) |
| ROMNEY |
South Branch Intelligencer
|
Film 2406 |
1861 (one issue 1837-1896 |
| WELLSBURG | Wellsburg Herald |
Film 1715 Film 561 Film 2406 |
1861–1865 1861–1865. 1861 (two issues) |
| WHEELING | Daily Intelligencer |
Film 426 Film 2307 Film 2419 |
1859–1863 1862 (two issues) 1860 |
| Daily Register |
Film 425 Film 2422 |
1863–1864 1863–1864 |
|
| Virginische Staats-Zeitung | Film 2411 | 1859 (one issue), 1863 (one issue) | |
| Wheeling Daily Intelligencer |
Film 426 |
1865–1903 | |
| Wheeling Daily Register |
Film 425 |
1864–1878 | |