It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searchable digital images of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Regimental histories and first-person accounts compiled in the postwar period and early 20th century which chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865. This collection comprises, in its entirety, the microfilm collection Travels in the Confederate States, as well as a small number of selected titles from the microfilm collection Travels in the New South I, 1865–1900.
Military records from the Civil War, Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Mexican American and Early Indian wars, Spanish American War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War. Also provides access to some non-military record collections.
Includes company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of enslaved laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income.
Business records include ledger books, payroll books, cotton ginning books, work rules, account books, and receipts. Personal papers include family correspondence, diaries, and wills. Coverage: Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida plantations.